Florida League of Cities Recognizes Bobby O and Legislators with “Legislative Appreciation” and “Defenders of Home Rule” Awards


The Florida League of Cities is proud to honor Representative Robert “Bobby O” Olszewski, City of Orlando and a total of 17 Florida legislators with Legislative Appreciation Awards for their tireless efforts to protect the Home Rule authority of Florida’s cities during the 2018 legislative session.  Legislative Appreciation Award recipients are legislators who advocate on behalf of the League and its member cities time after time. These lawmakers consistently voted in support of League positions, offered amendments to help prevent preemptions and unfunded mandates, and/or worked behind the scenes to rally support for League positions during the 2018 legislative session.

The League is also proud to give special recognition to this year’s Defenders of Home Rule – Senator Debbie Mayfield, Representative Bobby DuBose and Representative Mel Ponder. The Defender of Home Rule Award is the League’s most prestigious legislative award and is given only to legislators who consistently vote and advocate on behalf of the League and its members. “On behalf of Florida’s 412 cities and thousands of municipal officials, both elected and appointed, the Florida League of Cities and its advocacy team are proud to recognize these Home Rule advocates for their continued support,” said Florida League of Cities Legislative Director Scott Dudley. “We believe the government closest to the people should make the decisions that affect the quality of life of the citizens
they have been elected to represent. These hardworking legislators continually supported that ideal, and we owe them a great deal of thanks.”

Defenders of Home Rule
Senator Debbie Mayfield, City of Melbourne
Representative Bobby DuBose, City of Fort Lauderdale
Representative Mel Ponder, City of Fort Walton Beach

Legislative Appreciation Award Recipients
Senator Daphne Campbell, City of North Miami Beach
Senator George Gainer, City of Panama City
Senator Bobby Powell, City of West Palm Beach
Senator Jose Javier Rodriguez, City of Miami
Senator Darryl Rouson, City of St. Petersburg
Senator Wilton Simpson, Spring Hill
Senator Linda Stewart, City of Orlando
Senator Perry Thurston, City of Fort Lauderdale
Representative Joe Geller, City of Dania Beach
Representative Kristin Jacobs, City of Coconut Creek
Representative Evan Jenne, City of Hollywood
Representative Sam Killebrew, City of Winter Haven
Representative Larry Lee, City of Fort Pierce
Representative Robert “Bobby O” Olszewski, City of Orlando
Representative Paul Renner, City of Palm Coast
Representative Richard Stark, City of Weston
Representative Wengay “Newt” Newton, City of St. Petersburg


Comments are closed.